Prime Circle

  • slide
  • slide
  • slide

Your Next Step

Let us entertain you!


Since they first burst out of Witbank some 11 years ago, Prime Circle’s career has been an inspiration that has spawned hundreds of garage bands across South Africa, with starry-eyed young rockers hoping that one day, they might make it big the way Ross Learmonth, Dirk Bisschoff, Marco Gomes, Neil Breytenbach and Dale Schnettler did.

Their 2003 debut, “Hello Crazy World”, rocketed to gold status in South Africa, with “Live This Life” (their 2005 follow-up following suit). Singles such as “Hello”, “Live This Life” and “My Inspiration” earned heavy rotation on South African radio.

2008 saw Prime Circle release “All or Nothing” which raked in the first two Prime Circle South African Music Award nominations of their career, for Record of the Year and Best Rock Album (English).

To date, the first single “She Always Gets What She Wants” has received over 789 000 YouTube hits - the most-viewed South African rock song ever.

“Jekyll & Hyde”, unleashed in 2010, was mixed in Los Angeles by Kevin Shirley. New York-based Sterling Sound mastering engineer George Marino laid the final touches.

The first two singles from the album “Breathing” and “Turning in My Sleep” were each nominated for the SAMA for MTN Record of the Year in 2011.

In March 2011, Prime Circle won the Best International Breakthrough Act at the MK Awards.

The band released their fifth studio album, “Evidence” in September 2012. The first single “Time Kills Us All”, debuted on regional and national radio in South Africa to widespread acclaim. The 13-track album features the masterful recording wizardry of Theo Crous.

In May 2014, Prime Circle released their 6th album, ‘Let The Night In’ before embarking on one of their biggest European and South African tours.

Says Ross Learmonth, “Without the fans, we would be nothing. And I don’t ever want to do anything else. Creating music for a living is a privilege, and we never forget that.”

Prime Circle are:Ross Learmonth (vocals and guitar); Marco Gomes (bass); Dale Schnettler (drums); Neil Breytenbach (keyboard) and Dirk Bisschoff (guitar).